Club History

The first informal meeting held in preparation for the formation of the Rotary Club of Shelby was held at Hotel Sherman in Shelby on May 26, 1926. The meeting was held under the direction and guidance of Leonard Skeggs of Youngstown, the then District Governor; John Diel, President of the Rotary Club of Kent, Ohio, and W. A. Wallis and W. W. Reed, both members of the Kent Club.

Among the Shelby men present was Sidney D. Inscho who has passed away.

At the second organization meeting held on June 1, 1926, the Kent Rotarians were in attendance together with several Mansfield Rotarians who were representing and assisting the Sponsoring Club.

At this meeting L.A. Dennis was elected temporary chairman, and the meeting resulted in the formation of the Shelby Rotary Club. Eight Directors were then elected by the twenty-five charter members and the directors in turn elected John H. Warden as the Club's first president; L. A. Dennis as the Club's first Vice President, and Dr. W. J. Briggs as the first Secretary-Tresurer.

The charter was presented to the Club officially on June 25, 1926, by Leonard T. Skeggs of Youngstown, Governor of the 21st District, during a banquet held at the Masonic Temple at Shelby and was accepted for the Club by President John H. Warden.

Following are the names of the original twenty-five charter members:

Lane W. Barton

Walter C. Bowsher

W. Jesse Briggs (Dr.)

Roscoe Crall

Louis A. Dennis

Gerald S. Dennis

Edward D. Dowds (Dr.
Howard Ellery

Albert A. Fate

Carl W. Giller

Francis L. Gump

Jack Kennedy, Sr.

John R. Kingsboro

Basil W. Knapp

Clifford J. Laser

Benjamin H. Moffatt, (Dr.)

Gorge L. Reichert

Foster Reynolds

Roscoe Skiles

J. Carl Stambaugh

Roy Vanwagner

John H. Warden

John H. West

James V. Will

J. Floyd Winans (Dr.)

The original meeting place of the Shelby Club was at the Parish House of St. Mark's Episcopal Church, and in later years was changed to Mrs. Clair Bloomfield's residence, The Joy Lou Tea Room, The Shelby Inn, The Pines, The Towne House, The Hotel Brickley, The V.F.W. Post #291, and finally to our present location, The Shelby Senior Center.

Shelby Rotary Club

Current Membership Years of Perfect Attendance:

Reid Miller: 36 Years

Ken Albert: 5 Years

Libby Anatra: 4 Years

Scott Donnenwirth: 3 Years

Joe Gies: 4 Years

Rich Greene: 4 Years

Marilyn John 3 Years

Membership over 35 Years

Peyton Sid Thomas: 52 Years (April, 1958)

Rotary Websites

Rotary International:

District 6600: